What is Special Education at TPHS?  
Home Page What do I do if I suspect my child needs Special Ed Services? How do I contact Special Ed?
  Who are Special Ed
staff members?


How can I help prepare
my student?

What is Special Education?

Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), schools that receive any federal funding must provide all students with a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) regardless of disability. FAPE is defined as appropriate special education and related services and aids that support a disabled student in the least restrictive environment (LRE). Students who meet the criteria for Special Education services as defined in IDEA and the California Education Code are placed on an Individual Education Plan (IEP).This plan outlines academic goals the student is trying to achieve and the support services the school has put in place to assist the student in reaching these goals. Additionally, each student on an IEP is assigned a case manager that oversees this IEP and makes sure the students needs are being met. 

In order to meet the IDEA regulations and California Education codes, TPHS offers a variety of special education services to support students who have a documented disability and are eligible for an Individual Education Plan (IEP).These services include, but are not limited to core level academic courses, re-teach courses, team-taught courses, school psychologist services, speech and language pathologist services, occupational therapy, assistive technology, and adapted physical education.

How are students eligible to receive Special Education Services?
Students are eligible to receive special education services if:

  • They meet the criteria for one of the disabling conditions outlined in IDEA.

  • Because of this disabling condition their academic progress is being impacted. 

  • The support services provided on the IEP have to be over and above those that could be provided in the regular education classroom.   

What are the 14 disabling conditions? 

  1. Specific Learning Disability (SLD)

  2. Other Health Impairment (OHI)

  3. Autistic

  4. Speech and Language Impaired (SLI)

  5. Orthopedically Impaired (OI)

  6. Mental Retardation (MR)

  7. Emotionally Disturbed (ED)

  8. Visually Impaired

  9. Hard of Hearing

  10. Deaf

  11. Deaf/Blind

  12. Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

  13. Multiple Disabilities

  14. Established Medical Disability (age 0-5 yrs).

Eligibility is determined based upon a psycho-educational battery of assessments that is completed and interpreted by a qualified SDUHSD representative.


Special Education Home Page | Back to Torrey Pines Home Page
Last revised: 02/27/2008